Sunday Odds and Ends

Following up on some earlier posts today.

My search for music continues. I’ve been playing the Kutless CD Sea of Faces, which is not bad. It belongs to my son, Michael, from his archives. I’m thinking of looking into the group Falling Up, which is a Christian band that seems to have moved from hard rock to techno. I’m not sure how I’ll like that, but at least they sound original. When I say “looking into the group,” I mean that I don’t have any money right now, or I’d buy a CD. In the meantime, I have listened to samples of their music on Amazon.

Yesterday, I finished the book They Eat Puppies, Don’t They? There’s an appetizing title for you. It’s a political satire recommended by my brother, and although it’s not my usual genre, it was scathingly funny. The author, Christopher Buckley, wrote Thank You for Smoking several years back. Yes, he’s the son of the late William F. Buckley, Jr., so you know he must be brilliant. This book is not for the sensitive reader, as it has plenty of foul language and sexual situations (no descriptions). Although it is fiction, there are a couple of real people in it, such as Chris Matthews and the Dalai Lama, as well as thinly-veiled stand-ins for Ann Coulter and others. The main character is a lobbyist who is tasked with making Americans hate the Chinese, even though he has no idea why his sponsor wants him to do that. The book title is just one nasty rumor about the Chinese. Very amusing.

After that, I had to return to more familiar territory in reading, so I picked up an advance reader copy of Maggie Stiefvater’s teen novel, The Raven Boys, due out in September. I read a lot of Young Adult books for my job, and I’ve been a Stiefvater fan since her Lament series, so I was looking forward to good things. The first few pages were way more occult than I am usually comfortable with. I can handle vampires—sparkly or not—and werewolves, but witches, not so much. To be fair, the mom in the story calls herself a psychic, so we’ll see. I usually say “no, thanks” to witch stories.

However, I decided to give the book the requisite 50-page trial. In the second chapter, she introduces the titular boys, and their characters are so complex and finely drawn that I cannot leave them on the page. It’s just what one would expect from an award-winning author, so I hope the rest of the book will be as amazing as her earlier titles. It is the first of a series, so I’ll keep you posted.

That’s about as exciting as it’s been around here, except for making Jambalaya to use up some of those peppers that I’ve told you about. Of course, the guys added hot sauce.

Next week is my birthday week! Let’s hope I get spoiled.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Music

Leave a Reply

