Look! I’ve Been Baking!

If you read my post about cookbooks, I told you that I’d report back to you with results from my experiments with the new book, The Joy of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Baking, by Peter Reinhart and Denene Wallace.

Well, here are some pictures of my latest trials. The first recipe I tried, as I wrote in my last post, was the Pecan ImageSandies, which were fabulous. I wish I had a picture for you, but maybe later! Next, I made the Cheesy Italian Herb Bread. It looks good, and the flavor is very nice. It has red pepper flakes, oregano, basil, thyme, and more, but the texture put me off. I think it’s the xanthan gum, which was probably added to give the nut flour base a stretchy feel more like a yeast bread, but it seems slimy and oily to me. Next time, I think I’ll try it without xanthan gum, and I hope it will have a quick bread texture, because the flavor is warm and hearty.

This morning, I made the Cranberry Scones. Perfect! They are sweet and soft, with just the right amount of munchiness that scones should have. We had them with a pot of our Saturday “good coffee.” I had to force myself not to pick up yet another one.Image

The biggest drawback of the cookbook so far is the cost of the ingredients. Nuts are not cheap! I was able to find almost everything—even the xanthan gum and the flaxseed meal—at Wal-Mart. I only had to buy the hazelnuts at Whole Food$. I think I could actually get a better price on the almonds in the Whole Foods bulk food bins.

Next week: Chocolate Cake! I’m waiting for the blade coffee grinder to arrive from Amazon first, so that I can get the hazelnuts ground to a really fine flour. The food processor only gives me a fine meal, which is still great for cookies and scones.

Maybe I will also start walking every day. The sacrifices I make for the sake of research!

3 Comments

Filed under Diabetes, Food

3 responses to “Look! I’ve Been Baking!

  1. David

    As husband, and chief guinea pig, I am looking forward to more experiments in the kitchen. Yummy, so far!!

  2. Martha

    Thanks for yourupdate. It’s always good to know what results can be BEFORE waiting for the book.

  3. Lisa @ Eva Perry Library

    I was in Whole Foods contemplating buying a $12 bag of xanthan gum the other day, and one of the store employees told me she prefers using guar gum in her gluten-free baking instead. The guar gum was only $8 or $9. I ended up going home to “think about it some more” and haven’t tried baking anything yet, but here is what Bob’s Red Mill says about it http://www.bobsredmill.com/blog/2010/05/14/guar-gum-vs-xanthan-gum/.

    I have Reinhart’s book at home right now and after reading your review I’m thinking very seriously about trying that Pecan Sandies recipe!

Leave a Reply

