Oh, Yes, She Did!

2014-11-09 15.09.48

 

2014-11-09 14.33.10Today, I added a new “first” to my list: I walked a 5K event. Other people at this event could say, “I ran a 5K race,” but I walked. I have to say that I was really nervous, since I have not done so well on the treadmill lately, and my trepidation grew even greater when I got winded walking from the parking lot to the starting line, but we toughed it out. David and I were eager to support the Epilepsy Foundation of North Carolina, and especially, as you can see on David’s shirt, our girl, Zora Carlin.

2014-11-09 15.08.26The sheer number of strollers and dogs involved helped to calm me down as we started the first lap of Tatum’s Trail, although the first leg was uphill all the way. I reminded myself that the first mile is always the hardest on the treadmill, and it was easier outside with pretty scenery and people to talk to. Not to mention the motivation that comes from being outpaced by two-year-olds and Chihuahuas.

2014-11-09 15.00.34We were still in the woods when we heard them announcing the winners in all of the categories, so I gave up my dreams of a trophy. We were not last, though! Seeing the kids who were benefitting from the walk made it all worthwhile. You don’t have to wait for such an occasion in your neck of the woods to contribute, though. The Epilepsy Foundation receives no government funding, so they would be glad to receive your donation any day of the year. You could bring smiles to the faces of families like the Carlins.

2014-11-09 15.11.07

Steve, Eva, Dawn, and Zora Carlin

Leave a comment

Filed under Dravet Syndrome

Leave a Reply

